Keeping the Flame of Faith Alive

From: Kendall Payne
Date: 2015-10-26 3:01 AM
To: Luana Payne;
Subject:Re: This week

Hey Family!!

(Note to family member)

This week was one of great sorrow for us rugby fans in South Africa (yes that includes us missionaries). After playing some powerful games and defeating some difficult teams the South African Springboks have been knocked out of the 2015 Rugby world Cup by the old time rivals New Zealand All Blacks. I had been thinking South Africa would win the cup this year but now as defined in the book of mormon “they have been brought down into the dusts of humility and great was their shame for what they had done.” But all will be well. Once the Team comes back to south africa my companion and i plan on finding them and teaching the whole team about the miracle of the atonement so they can have this pain removed from within their souls.

I am also quite happy to announce that yesterday i was able to finish the Book of Mormon for the Fourth time on my mission and in my life. This time as i read however i decided to mark down every question that i found within it and it came out to 529 question asked by many individuals found within its pages. Thats an average of about one per page (even though some of the books dont contain any). It has strengthened my testimony as well as my faith. I have also set the personal goal for my self that i will read the book of mormon at least twice per year. We are challenged by our church leaders to make lifetime goals and i have started on making the first of many for myself. Eventually i may challenge myself to read it once every three months which would be another great goal. I encourage and plead with any who have not read it, to please soften your heart, obtain a copy and read deeply from its messages. You will be blessed beyond measure.

Also this week we watched general conference. It was powerful and moving. I found answers to my questions and was filled spiritually. I see alot of strength coming into the quorum of the twelve through the three newly called apostles. I still see alot of strength in the church. Members continue to do impressive acts of faith and draw closer to the Lord. I am blessed enough to see many examples of peoples faith and be affected by them.

Last night our district leader asked us as we drove away from the area what the theme of conference was this time we all agreed that if a theme had to be picked it could be “Keeping Gods Commandments & Retaining our Flame of Faith” I found Elder Andersons and Brother Durrants talks especially powerful as he talked about feeding our faith and keeping it lit within us. I agreed personally that i would do this and also made the commitment to “ponderise” a verse of scripture every week again for the remainder of my life. As soon as i got home from conference i found some scripture mastery cards, found one i wanted to memorize for this week and keep it in thought every day. Already i have seen my life being blessed by doing this.

I know that as we keep Gods commandments we shall be blessed. As we share the gospel and feed our faith we shall be perfected through our teaching and living as disciples of jesus christ. I love the lord with all my heart. Stay close to him and his commandments and he will stay close to you.

I love you all very much.

Elder Payne

Leave a Reply

