To Speak as Bold as a Lion

Date: Mon, 24 Aug 2015 10:44:15 +0200
Subject: Re: This week
From: kendall.payne
To: cardstonmomma

Hey Family!

So this week was again interesting. We had a massive group of missionaries go home ( 18 in total) and only sixteen missionaries to replace them. They are the biggest incoming and outgoing groups i have ever seen on my time on mission. It was kind of funny thinking back to when i was new and walked around the mission home talking with old missionaries and being amazed at how old on mission they were and all the stories they had to tell. Now everything was on the flipside and i was the super old dude making friends with all the newbs coming into the mission. I liked watching their face light up when i answered their question as to how old i was on mission. “WOW!! 20 months! you are almost finished! You are so lucky!” I agreed with them that yes i was lucky to have gotten this far on my mission. Some elders or sisters experience hard times and then choose to go home. Others develop illness and get sent home before their alloted time is up. But i realised something about being a missionary recently that im sure has been talked about before. The minute you decide to serve a mission, you start making sacrifices, most times immediately. Then coming on mission and working on mission is a completely different story as well. It also requires you to sacrifice, but it more requires you to stretch in ways you never though you could. So just an opinion, but i feel like people judge missionaries who return home from their missions, going almost immediately to asking the question “Are you still worthy?” I find it unfair and unjust. Think about the individuals circumstances. Think about what that person would be like without the support of the church in their lives. It would be a drastic change. So i guess what i am asking is be more of a christ like disciple to those who chose to be Christs missionaries, yet returned home, Even if they returned home dishonorably. I think the Lord understands and still loves them. I think that we should also do the same. To quote the Saviour “Judge not the ye be not judged”

Also yesterday my companion and i gave talks in Sacrament meeting. I had prepared a talk about enduring Temptations and trials and my Companion had prepared about caring for the disabled. I had planned and prayed over my material and strongly about it, yet still asked the lord to bless me with strength to give my talk and to calm my fear of being in front of a large congregation. As we sat down i was feeling great and ready to give my talk and also to speak as bold as a Lion. Then the mission president walked into the sacrament meeting. Seeing him walk in made me more nervous, because i would now be speaking in front of a man who i love and respect so much, i felt like he expected a bit more from me that i had prepared. But sticking to my original plan and determined not to look him in the eyes i gave my talk. It turned out wonderfully, even if my hands were shaking like an old man who had developed parkinsons disease. After my talk finished i sat down relieved. Then i looked at my president. He looked at my companion and I, With a small gleam in his eye. It was more the look a father has for his son after he wins his first award. So i knew the President was happy with what my comp and i had done and i felt comforted at that point. It was really intense haha but i loved it.

I hope you all enjoy your week! Remember i love you!

Elder Payne

Leave a Reply

