Dear brother…

From: Kendall Payne
Date: August 18, 2014 at 4:19:42 AM MDT
To: Devoney Wolfe
Subject: Re: Dear brother…

Devs!!! Im doing well!! And im glad to hear that you are doing great as well!! And it is nice to hear from the siblings every now and then. There is so many of you, that you could almost trade off on weeks to email me!! But I do know that you all live busy lives so I wont hold it against you. My new companion are doing extremely well in the area. With all the work Elder Kelsey and I did finding and meeting with people we have lots of potential investigators to meet with!! Its actually getting to be such a problem meeting with all those who want to meet with us, that we cant find time to meet with every one! People complain saying we don’t see them enough, yet if we schedule them in for more time we are cutting other people off on lessons as well. So I think what we need to do is just focus on those who are coming to church and let that be that. If we have an investigator that has been taught for a long time and they aren’t coming to church then we have to let them go and just focus on the church attenders. Sometimes its stressful being a missionary, But the trials later turn into Great learning experiences. So I guess I like the feeling of being overwhelmed because it means the lord knows you can handle it. If you had a life filled with cherries and pancakes all the time then you would know that the Lord doesn’t expect to much from you. But I want to share an experience that we have had in the past few weeks. So one of our investigators (Malipo from DRC) wants to be able to speak better English so he can find a more secure job. So we were told that the church has a program to teach people how to speak English very well and also at the same time understand the scriptures. So we started with Malipo that we were going to teach. Then he told his wife that we were teaching English so she is also interested in learning. That’s two! Then Malipo again tells a friend that his church (mind he is still an investigator and he says this is HIS church now) is teaching Him English. That’s three!! Malipo is absolute power! He brings people to church all the time just because he opens his mouth and tells people how great our church is! I cant wait to see him baptised because he will be a great member. And this past sunday we started with the English class. Now malipo was the only one who showed up, But I don’t think I have had as much fun in lessons as we had in that lesson. Malipo started arguing with us and telling us that the pronunciations in English are ridiculous. I would have to agree haha. After teaching I realized how hard English is to learn, So I have earned a great respect for those who don’t learn English until they are adults because it is TOUGH!! haha but I hope you continue to have a good week and I hope TJ does well in school!! Love Elder Seth Payne

On Tue, Aug 12, 2014 at 3:10 AM, Devoney Wolfe wrote:

It has been far too long since I last wrote to you. My excuses are moving, etc., but really, I know it only takes a moment to email. (We moved at the end of June t Blackfoot. I now work at Idaho State University in the copy center. TJ is planning to go to ISU next semester to finish his Bachelor’s, and then probably get his master’s in Social Work.) I sure do love you. I have yet to read your emails over the last month because I just now got access to them (Mom’s computer is not working right now for her to forward the emails.) (I won’t read or share the latest one. I understand it was written really for Shaelyn.). How are you? I am so very proud of you!

May I share my testimony with you? TJ and I are talking in church on Sunday, so I guess it’s on my mind. I am speaking on the importance of personal scripture study, a topic dear to my heart. Since I was about 14 I have made an earnest effort to study the scriptures every single day. I have missed only a handful days in that time, and I have grown in my studies so that I crave an hour each day of it and make every effort to do so. It has brought me nourishment to my soul as real—more real, even—than that a full, refreshing rainstorm on parched summer earth. I feel the Savior’s love and receive His direction, personal and specific to me and to my needs, as I search them by prayer. I love each of the standard works: the Old Testament, the New Testament, the Book of Mormon, the Doctrine and Covenants, and the Pearl of Great Price. I have received such precious insights from each one of them.

Well, I guess that’s it for today. I certainly do love you, dear brother. Have a great day.
Devoney

Leave a Reply

